STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
COUNTY OF MCDOWELL COUNTY
BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
ADJOURNED SESSION-FIRE COMMISSION -- MAY 12, 2016

ASSEMBLY

The McDowell County Board of Commissioners met in an Adjourned Session on Thursday, May 12, 2016, at 6:30 p.m., at McDowell Technical Community College, 54 College Drive, Marion, North Carolina.

MEMBERS PRESENT

David N. Walker, Chair; Barry McPeters, Vice-Chair; Van "Randy" Hollifield; Matthew Crawford, and Tony Brown

OTHERS PRESENT

Ashley Wooten, County Manager; Cheryl Mitchell, Clerk to the Board

CALL TO ORDER

Chief Brad Ledbetter, Chair of the Fire Commission, called the meeting to order, and asked each department to give an update of their department.

The following departments gave a brief update:

Ashford-North Cove Fire Department
Crooked Creek Fire Department
Dysartsville Fire Department
Glenwood Fire Department
Marion Fire Department
Nebo Fire Department
Old Fort Fire Department
PG Fire Department
Sugar Hill Fire Department
Woodlawn Fire Department
McDowell Rescue
Emergency Management

Chair Walker stated the Commissioners had presented a proposal for potential fund growth for consideration to the Fire Commission. He then turned the meeting over to Chief Ledbetter to discuss the fire tax item.

Chief Ledbetter stated the county currently appropriates \$28,199 to each department at a .99 cent rate, suggested move was to 2.0 cents. Each department would receive percentage accordingly.

Discussion followed, after which the Fire Commission voted to accept the property tax based fire tax amount.

Each Commissioner voiced their appreciation for the work and collaboration of the departments. Vice Chair McPeters asked each department to encourage their junior fireman to do well in school. He also spoke on the success of the EMT program at the high school.

Discussion was held on the smoke detector program that a couple of the fire departments had conducted.

County Manager, Ashley Wooten also expressed his appreciation for all the work the departments do every day.

DAVID N. WALKER CHAIRMAN CHERYL L. MITCHELL CLERK TO THE BOARD